croquet mallets and bubbles
03.07.03 10:35 a.m.

I don't want to play this game anymore. Fine-- on the fucking grass and it's all messed up this way. I was used to the croquet mallets.. but not the little hill runway to get to the goal. I tried to run up there once- but we might as well be playing with pool cues, it was so difficult.

I failed at the attempt. I ran back around to get to the ball-- struggle. She hit my shin. I fell to the ground. Oh god.. it was awful. I lay there, unable to even shed a tear. Paralyzed on the field. The game went on for a bit- no one expected me to stay down. I knew the bruise wouldn't show immediately.. he wouldn't find it inexcusable.

I was helped off the field. I could still feel the nerves pulsating, screaming at me- but that song was old. What ensued next is what is important, more so than anything before this.

Coach was going to kill me- literally. He had a gun. I made us lose the game, in his mind. He loaded up the gun (I'm ignorant of what type- a gun is a gun in my mind). He kept us, the entire team, in some sort of house complex. A woman took care of us.

I had my own gun. I grabbed it complete with belt and stood behind the wall waiting for him to come. He didn't. I had to run.

I ran into the rooom where all the girls were and screamed for my life. Help me, He's going to kill me. I kept repeating it- that's all I could think. No one helped.

I flew down a ladder. The hall expanded into lots of aldders that went both up and down. Up and down to the same places. I ended up in a room with an older mother and her son.

Get in the bed-- Please, just lie on top of me and it'll seem like it's just you in the bed. The mother helped with this. The boy was only twelve. He told me how he would go down to t he parties downstairs and just makeout. They were still too young for sex. I said I could understand that.

But I like to see the underwear the girls wear- it's always cute. That's what the party's for anyway.

He was too young. Coach walked in- he didn't see me. But I was stuck. There was a bird outside. He laughed at the bird and said it wouldn't see anything interesting here. No flowers or anything around the fences.

He left. I looked out the window and saw another girl lookig out on my left. We both jumped out at the same time. The dog ran towards her. I was at the barbed wire fence- I hurtled myself over it somehow. The dog was able to jump through it and be on both sides. He stayed on the side I had just left though. I ran to the next one. I could see a highway and flowers and people. A car stopped!

I heard him yelling behind me. That I can't leave the team. That he'll kill me. That I can't get away. That I won't last.

He was behind me, running. I was over the fence and had jumped into the tall flowers. I wove a way towards the stopped cars. I pleaded and begged. A girl just accepted me without a word. She closed the window- but not enough. He reached in behind me and tried to grab me.

Oh god.. this is it. I'll die here in front of all of these people.

But he let go. We drove away. The guy in the front seat looked back to examine me. My leg was still throbbing. Let's go get something to eat.

I don't have any money though. That's okay- you'll be fine.

The girl in the front seat had also gotten away- sometime earlier. Enough time to establish herself.

last - next
old
new
email
book
profile
design
host