late nights and poor sleep
01.06.03 11:15 a.m.

Oh my god, she's coming! Hurry up- hide in here. She slipped past a blanket revealing a smaller groove in the straw and dirt and all that foulness that she had spent this last week on and I crawled into it.

Okay, wait. This makes no sense. Why would I be crawling into some filthy area just to be covered up by that blanket and unable to breathe again- at least, breathe freely. It started with that gynecologist appointment a week earlier.

Now, she half coaxed and half commanded, slide back a bit and keep your knees bent and legs apart. There was a blue sheet covering me from the waist down and she had formed a tent sort of by putting her head at the bottom of it. I was sitting on the cold ground on another blanket of sorts. I looked to my left and saw two friends. Why are they here?

This is where I black out.

I'm running down this street/path in the middle of all these woods. There's a woman chasing us. We lose her along the way to the town. Bridgewater. But it's really just a shopping plaza with a few houses in the middle of it. Not so far away are the woods that we were just in. Fields and trees all mixed together. Greens of marvelous varieties. There's reporters around us, for reasons unknown. I realize that the girls that were with us earlier, are in the house in the middle of this lot. They're being held there as suspects (although already assumed guilty by the man and woman) in their loss of something. Something big. Something important. But those girls.. they're our friends. No one will help them. Why aren't the cops here? NO! Don't bring the cops in.

Before morning I creep into the house through an open basement window. She's being held in a stall. She's pale and sickly. This is where I end up under the blanket. We fiddle with a few poses, intertwining our bodies so that we look as one under the blanket. She lifts her upper body above to great the man coming to check on her. He is big, tough, scary. His head is shaved. I can't breathe. I'm trying to move my mouth towards the miniscule gap between the blanket and wall of "ground." It doesn't help.

He leaves. I leave, with promise to get back. We're back out in the field now. Running from tree to tree. It's the reporters. They're trying to report on us. I'm grabbing for another branch when I see shiny metal. It looks like a branch initially... until I wrap my fingers around it. We both coming crashing down.

Are you okay? Yea, but look at this. Wait- that's the controller! It's what they're looking for.

Silence.

We rush back to the parking lot. We need to do this now. I know the house, I'll go in. I go in the same way as before. I unlock her chains this time too. She rushes to go get the others. I hope they don't look as bad as she did. I go upstairs to the kitchen and have the remote control car in my hands.

I send it over the ledge and then jump out myself. It's not really a jump, so much as a fall. The window was small. I cut my elbow on it somehow.

Now we're running around the car. The woman is about to get us. I pick up my cell phone. We're here. By Manfield's store. In a plaza. Help! The woman even gives us our exact location. She's so sure that we're hers.

At least the girls got out.

last - next
old
new
email
book
profile
design
host